Frequently asked questions:
All of our electric rental carts are LSVs, licensed by the FL DMV. They may be driven on any road in Florida with a posted speed limit of 35 MPH or less, which includes the entire length of popular 30A and surrounding neighborhoods. TIP: Stay safe and please be courteous by pulling over to the side to allow any anxious driver behind you to pass.
We require the primary responsible party renting the vehicle to be at least 25 years old. Each additional driver must be 18 years or older with a valid driver’s license.
Florida Law 316.613 regarding Child restraint requirements states that any child age 5 years of age or younger, must be protected by properly using a crash-tested, federally approved child restraint device. For children aged through 3 years, such restraint device must be a separate carrier or an integrated child seat. For children aged 4 through 5 years, a separate carrier, an integrated child seat, or a seat belt may be used.
Did you know in Florida golf carts cannot be manufactured to run over 20 mph by law? According to the statute, Florida says a golf cart is defined as a four-wheeled vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 mph but less than 25 mph. Any golf cart that exceeds speeds of 20 mph, is considered an LSV (low-speed vehicle) and requires a regular vehicle operator’s license to drive. LSVs must be registered and tagged by your local DMV, must be insured, and driven by a driver with active driving insurance.
We highly recommend that you charge your electric cart up to 100% every night and in-between whenever possible. A fully charged electric cart can be driven approximately 35 miles distance before you need to recharge the vehicle. Smaller carts or carts with less than a 50% charge will be lucky to make it 20 miles distance or less. Be proactive, not reactive and be sure to prepare your cart for the next day’s driving. Just like a battery-operated radio, the rechargeable batteries will decrease in power even when not in-use. By taking preventative measures, you can avoid getting stranded on the side of the road or being unable to leave after a long, hot day at the beach!
Essentially the answer to this question is yes, but there are some exceptions. An example of an exception is on Florida highways. Florida statute 316.212-section 3 says a golf cart can only cross a state highway that divides a subdivision, private community, or a golf course. So, if you must cross a state highway to get from one side of your neighborhood to another you can do so.
Yes, the following private communities do not allow any rental golf carts to be delivered to vacation properties: Sandestin Resort, Rosemary Beach, Aly’s Beach, Seaside, Watersound, Summer’s Edge, TOPS’L. You can drive to their commercial vendors shops/dining but will receive a citation for having a rental cart from ANY COMPANY parked in the driveway or in front of a residential home in those neighborhoods.